Dr. Elizabeth A. Craig

Over the course of the next few months the CRDM blog will periodically feature a Q + A with one of our outstanding faculty members. We take classes with them and work with them on scholarly projects, but now we’d like to learn more about what else they’re doing. We’ve talked with David RiederJessica JamesonChris AnsonMatt MayDavid BerubeSusan KatzMaria PramaggioreSusan Miller-CochranRobert SchragCarolyn R. MillerBrad MehlenbacherR. Michael YoungJason SwartsAdriana de Souza e SilvaAndrew Binder, and Victoria Gallagher, and we recently caught up with Dr. Elizabeth Craig, Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication:

What are you reading?

For research: Journal of Family Communication. The journal is only a few decades old, so I’m trying to get caught up on trends in this area.

For fun: The Sword of Truth Series by Terry Goodkind. I’m a huge Fantasy/Sci-Fi Fan

What classes are you teaching?

I’m teaching Family Communication as an advanced undergraduate course. I love teaching this course because student really identify with the content. Additionally, these conversations help me as a researcher understand the applied nature of what I study, and how my research may impact individuals, families, and larger communities outside of academia.

What are you writing about?

How do you define family?

I’m currently writing a manuscript based off of in-depth interviews I conducted with Childfree individuals. I focused on their decisions not to have children, disclosures of this decision, and relational changes due to these disclosures. I continue to be excited about ways that we define/redefine what it means to be a family, and how family identity is solidified through communication with others.

What are you listening to?

My musical tastes are varied. When I write, I tend to listen to Civil Wars or U2, when I cook I listen to Ryan Adams or Kings of Leon, when I drive I listen to Metallica (doesn’t help with road rage), and when I hang out with friends on my patio I listen to Pearl Jam.

What are you watching?

I only have Netflix, so I’m currently watching How the Universe Works & catching up on the many seasons of Stargate…yes, I did mean it when I said I was a Sci-Fi fan.

19 Comments

Filed under CRDM Faculty

19 responses to “Dr. Elizabeth A. Craig

  1. Pingback: Dr. Andrew Binder | CRDM @ NC State

  2. Pingback: Dr. Victoria Gallagher | CRDM @ NC State

  3. Pingback: Valeska Redmond, ABD | CRDM @ NC State

  4. Pingback: Dr. David Rieder | CRDM @ NC State

  5. Pingback: Dr. Jessica Jameson | CRDM @ NC State

  6. Pingback: Dr. Chris Anson | CRDM @ NC State

  7. Pingback: Dr. Robert Schrag | CRDM @ NC State

  8. Pingback: Dr. Maria Pramaggiore | CRDM @ NC State

  9. Pingback: Dr. Carolyn R. Miller | CRDM @ NC State

  10. Pingback: Dr. Brad Mehlenbacher | CRDM @ NC State

  11. Pingback: Dr. Jason Swarts | CRDM @ NC State

  12. Pingback: Come take a look, it’s on the blog (for 36 months and counting) | CRDM @ NC State

  13. Pingback: Dr. David Berube | CRDM @ NC State

  14. Pingback: Dr. Susan Miller-Cochran | CRDM @ NC State

  15. Pingback: Dr. Matt May | CRDM @ NC State

  16. Pingback: Dr. R. Michael Young | CRDM @ NC State

  17. Pingback: Dr. Adriana de Souza e Silva | CRDM @ NC State

  18. Pingback: Tabita Moreno, ABD | CRDM @ NC State

  19. Pingback: Valeska Redmond, Ph.D. | CRDM @ NC State

Leave a Reply

