Dr. Maria Pramaggiore

Over the course of the next few months the CRDM blog will periodically feature a Q + A with one of our outstanding faculty members. We take classes with them and work with them on scholarly projects, but now we’d like to learn more about what else they’re doing. We’ve talked with David RiederJessica JamesonChris AnsonMatt MayDavid BerubeSusan KatzSusan Miller-CochranRobert SchragCarolyn R. MillerBrad MehlenbacherR. Michael YoungJason SwartsAdriana de Souza e SilvaElizabeth CraigAndrew Binder, and Victoria Gallagher, and we recently caught up with Dr. Maria Pramaggiore, CRDM faculty member and Associate Head of the English Department:

What are you reading?

I am reading a book entitled Yoga and the Hindu Tradition (1976) as well as a just-published book . The Science of Yoga, whose author has been on every talk show and radio show imaginable.  I am also reading a book manuscript on bisexual representation for a press that is planning to publish it. I am also reading a dissertation written by an NCSU Design student. When I can, I read the New Yorker and the New York Times on my iPad.

What classes are you teaching?

I will teach the Horror Film at the NCSU Prague Institute this summer and next year I will teach a graduate course in the spring.  I am debating among a graduate horror film course, my New Queer Cinema course, and my Feminist Film Theory course. Sometimes it’s hard to decide what to teach, and since I am finishing up a book, there isn’t something obvious for me to teach based on my immediate research projects.

What are you writing about?

I am writing a book on Stanley Kubrick’s 1975 film, BARRY LYNDON. I am visiting the UK in early March to interview his widow and his brother in law (who acted as his producer on many film projects); I just finished a co-authored essay on gender and reality TV that focused on “Keeping Up With The Kardashians”; I just published a piece on bisexual representation in recent film TV; and I am  developing a project with a colleague at the University of Surrey on the voice in documentary film.

What are you listening to?

My musica tastes are pretty broad: I like Marnie Stern; I just received the latest Paul McCartney cd for Valentine’s Day; and I listen to a lot of mantra music! I have an electric bass but I don’t get time to practice playing.

What are you watching?

I am a diehard Colbert and Stewart fan.  I also happen to like Fashion Police, or whatever the show is on E Network where Joan Rivers and her pals rip celebrities to shreds. I like Restaurant Impossible, where Bobby Ervin performs two day makeovers on small, family businesses. I also love cooking shows–Chopped, Cucpcake Wars, Sweet Genius– although I rarely cook, and I am terrible at it.

15 Comments

Filed under CRDM Faculty

15 responses to “Dr. Maria Pramaggiore

  1. Pingback: Dr. Robert Schrag | CRDM @ NC State

  2. Pingback: Dr. Carolyn Miller | CRDM @ NC State

  3. Pingback: Dr. Brad Mehlenbacher | CRDM @ NC State

  4. Pingback: Dr. R. Michael Young | CRDM @ NC State

  5. Pingback: Dr. Jason Swarts | CRDM @ NC State

  6. Pingback: Dr. Adriana de Souza e Silva | CRDM @ NC State

  7. Pingback: Dr. Elizabeth A. Craig | CRDM @ NC State

  8. Pingback: Dr. Andrew Binder | CRDM @ NC State

  9. Pingback: Dr. Victoria Gallagher | CRDM @ NC State

  10. Pingback: Dr. Susan Miller-Cochran | CRDM @ NC State

  11. Pingback: Dr. David Rieder | CRDM @ NC State

  12. Pingback: Dr. Jessica Jameson | CRDM @ NC State

  13. Pingback: Dr. Chris Anson | CRDM @ NC State

  14. Pingback: Dr. Matt May | CRDM @ NC State

  15. Pingback: Come take a look, it’s on the blog (for 36 months and counting) | CRDM @ NC State

Leave a Reply

