Dr. David Rieder

Over the course of the next few months the CRDM blog will periodically feature a Q + A with one of our outstanding faculty members. We take classes with them and work with them on scholarly projects, but now we’d like to learn more about what else they’re doing. We’ve talked with Jessica JamesonChris AnsonMatt MayDavid BerubeSusan KatzMaria PramaggioreSusan Miller-CochranRobert SchragCarolyn R. MillerBrad MehlenbacherR. Michael YoungJason SwartsAdriana de Souza e SilvaElizabeth CraigAndrew Binder, and Victoria Gallagher, and we recently caught up with David Rieder, Associate Professor of English and CRDM faculty member:

What are you reading?

Most anything I read is for work/research, and I’m usually working through several books. Currently, I’m reading Carrie Noland’s Agency and Embodiment, and I just finished David Berry’s The Philosophy of Software. I’m also rereading Tom Ingold’s book, Lines. Besides that, I’m reading through a couple of books on C# programming for a current grant project. Any additional reading is devoted to kids’ books for 2-4 year-olds. Lately, I’m reading a lot about witches and various kinds of farm animals.

What classes are you teaching?

Currently, I’m teaching a couple of undergrad courses, ENG 323 and ENG 426, which are “Writing in the Rhetorical Tradition” and “Analyzing Style.” Last semester, I taught undergraduate and graduate courses on humanities physical computing with Arduino and Processing. I’m happy to say I’ll be teaching “Digital Media Theory” again as a CRD 791 in the fall 2012, and Tim Stinson and I hope to team teach “Introduction to Digital Humanties” in the spring.

What are you writing about?

Right now, I’m working on my book manuscript titled Suasive Iterations: Experimental Approaches to Digital Rhetoric and Writing in Computational Media. Each chapter includes an original software program written in Processing. The chapter I’m working on right now is on the revitalized role of the gesture related to (grammatological) writing. The programming in that chapter is based on my recent work with the Kinect. In another two weeks, I’ll begin writing/participating in the “Critical Code Studies Working Group,” a three-week, online meeting for scholars/artists interested in developing critical approaches to writing about code in the humanities.

What are you listening to?

Not as much as I used to! I used to go out to shows regularly. Lately, with two young kids, I play the same stuff over and over again on my Shuffle when I’m at the gym: Fu Manchu, Sasquatch, Junkie XL, Quarashi, Chevelle, Beastie Boys, etc. Other than that, ‘lots of children’s music including some in French and Spanish. But if/when the Melvins come back to town, I’ll drop everything to see them.

What are you watching?

What about asking what I’m playing?! I’m playing Dead Island right now (it was on sale on Steam), and I always go back to Fallout3 for a nostalgic romp through the post-apocalyptic DC area. In answer to your question, when I’m not chasing zombies and mutants, my wife and I watch whatever is streaming on Netflix or Amazon for free. We just watched a movie called PontyPool, which I highly recommend. It’s all about speech, writing, and knowing. Brilliant. Other than that, Portlandia, Walking Dead, American Pickers, Flying Wild, and lots of action movies.

30 Comments

Filed under CRDM Faculty

30 responses to “Dr. David Rieder

  1. This is the best feature ever. Love it! Can’t wait for the next one.

  2. Splendid execution on the feature, Jeff.

    Nice work.

  3. Pingback: Dr. Chris Anson | CRDM @ NC State

  4. Pingback: Dr. Jessica Jameson | CRDM @ NC State

  5. Pingback: Kevin Brock, ABD! | CRDM @ NC State

  6. Pingback: Dr. Matt May | CRDM @ NC State

  7. Pingback: Dr. David Berube | CRDM @ NC State

  8. Pingback: Dr. Susan Katz | CRDM @ NC State

  9. Pingback: Dr. Maria Pramaggiore | CRDM @ NC State

  10. Pingback: Dr. Robert Schrag | CRDM @ NC State

  11. Pingback: Dr. Carolyn Miller | CRDM @ NC State

  12. Pingback: Dr. Brad Mehlenbacher | CRDM @ NC State

  13. Pingback: Dr. R. Michael Young | CRDM @ NC State

  14. Pingback: Jason Kalin, PhD | CRDM @ NC State

  15. Pingback: Dr. Jason Swarts | CRDM @ NC State

  16. Pingback: Wendi Sierra, ABD! | CRDM @ NC State

  17. Pingback: Dr. Adriana de Souza e Silva | CRDM @ NC State

  18. Pingback: Dr. Elizabeth A. Craig | CRDM @ NC State

  19. Pingback: Dr. Andrew Binder | CRDM @ NC State

  20. Pingback: Dr. Victoria Gallagher | CRDM @ NC State

  21. Pingback: Dr. Susan Miller-Cochran | CRDM @ NC State

  22. Pingback: Meagan Kittle Autry, ABD | CRDM @ NC State

  23. Pingback: Kate Maddalena, ABD | CRDM @ NC State

  24. Pingback: Come take a look, it’s on the blog (for 36 months and counting) | CRDM @ NC State

  25. Pingback: Fernanda Duarte, ABD! | CRDM @ NC State

  26. Pingback: Kevin Brock, PhD | CRDM @ NC State

  27. Pingback: Jeff Swift, ABD! | CRDM @ NC State

  28. Pingback: Meagan Kittle Autry, Ph.D. | CRDM @ NC State

  29. Pingback: Jeff Swift, Ph.D. | CRDM @ NC State

  30. Pingback: Kate Maddalena, Ph.D. | CRDM @ NC State

Leave a Reply

